top of page
  • Austin Hamblin

Day #5: Aliens

#5: Aliens

I love me some aliens! For some reason I have always loved the idea of space invaders. When I was in middle school and started writing, I wrote quite a few issues of this comic called The Invasion (such an original title I know), which featured aliens hiding in sewer systems all across the world. When they began the attack by boom truck, they already had a bunch of ground soldiers in place, popping out of the sewer like the Ninja Turtles. While most of those middle school writings are cringe worthy to read now, I had a few ideas in those stories I was proud of. You don’t have to be good to start, but you do have to start to be good. I had this idea about Bigfoot, how he was actually an alien refugee on Earth who didn’t trust humans due to the fact that he had been captured and tortured by a human hunter in the past. A few of my favorite alien inspired movies are Independence Day, Guardians of the Galaxy, Signs, Men in Black, Mars Attacks, and John Carter of Mars. I have to admit, I have gone down the rabbit whole of watching like three hours of Ancient Aliens. I grew up watching reruns of Star Trek with my dad, and I loved watching The Orville, as the first season was just coming out.. Ben 10 was one of my favorite cartoons of all time. I’m not sure about my thoughts on the existence of aliens. I like to imagine it’s like Men in Black; aliens are living among us. We have probably talked to some not knowing they are an alien. Maybe the weird old man who rides around in a Pikachu onesie on his bike is an alien (no seriously, it’s something you have got to see). I do think life exists someplace in the galaxy, but I don’t think we have come in contact with them yet. I almost forgot; I write a comic book that takes place in outer space! The Adventures of Punk and Rock follows two screw up bounty hunters in space, as well as the narrator who not only narrates the comic, but interacts with Punk, Rock, and you the reader. Oh yeah, he only narrates the comic because he needs to pay alimony to his ex-wife with whom he has 27 children. I can’t take all the credit. Scott Twells is not only the amazing artist of the book, but he also comes up with plots, edits for grammar, and is also one of the most patient people in the world. He is always waiting on me. We currently have six issues out and if you search online, you can easily buy a copy (SHAMELESS PLUG). I guess the appeal of aliens for me is because for my entire life, I have felt like a fish out of water, kind of out of place. So thinking about the endless possibilities of life and culture somewhere out there is really exciting.


Everyday I will be posting an entry in my writing challenge 100 Days which has been collected into a print collection. If you are interested in purchasing a print collection: http://www.lulu.com/shop/austin-hamblin/100-days/paperback/product-23916414.html

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day #46:

7/13/18 #46: Themed Restaurant An idea which runs through my head once in awhile is opening a themed restaurant. There used to be this bar in Chicago called The Squared Circle. It was a professional w

Day #45: Kayla

7/12/18 #45: Kayla Today is Kayla’s birthday. We actually just got home from Longhorn Steakhouse, and I ate way too much and am ready to go lay in bed. I figured this would be a good time to go in dep

Day #44: Things I want to Accomplish Through Writing

#44: Things I Want to Accomplish Through Writing This is more of a list.. -make a living writing -write a book -write a cartoon/episode of a cartoon -become a New York Times best selling author -be to

bottom of page