top of page
  • Austin Hamblin

Day #42: The Simpsons

7/9/18


#42: The Simpsons


I love The Simpsons. I watched them almost every week night when I was younger. I still enjoy watching old episodes because I missed so many jokes when I was younger. When I talk about The Simpsons, someone always says “it’s not as good as it used to be”. All I have to say is good for fucking you. Have you ever made something as iconic as The Simpsons? The humor of the show always gets me. I love Futurama, as well. There’s just something about Springfield which gives it a special place in my heart. I have to recommend this before I forget; Bongo published a Simpsons/Futurama crossover, and it is amazing. If you are fans of both series, you too will love it. They have made a ton of comics based on The Simpsons, and they are really great. The Death of Comic Book Guy miniseries finds Marge taking control of The Android's Dungeon and ruining it after Comic Book Guy dies. The best part is each cover of the miniseries pays homage to different famous comics covers. Let's do a quick round of favorites: Song: “We Do”; Characters: Moe, Duffman, Willie, and Hans Moleman; Best Treehouse of Horror: The Shining; and favorite quote: “Then grease me up, woman.” The show isn’t for everyone at times. It has stupid, obvious humor. Other times, it as has very smart, clever humor, or very dry humor. I think my favorite thing about the show has to be the giant cast of characters. At some point in the series, we usually dive into each characters’ lives and learn about them. Some hardly appear, such as Homer’s half brother, Herb, but leave a lasting impression, and you can actually feel empathy for them. I’d say, give it a watch, but it may be more of a Shelbyville idea...


Everyday I will be posting an entry in my writing challenge 100 Days which has been collected into a print collection. If you are interested in purchasing a print collection: http://www.lulu.com/shop/austin-hamblin/100-days/paperback/product-23916414.html


Kayla and I have also started a weekly podcast. You can check it out here: https://anchor.fm/austin-allen-hamblin It's called In the Bed with Austin and Kayla because we literally record it as we lay in bed!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day #46:

7/13/18 #46: Themed Restaurant An idea which runs through my head once in awhile is opening a themed restaurant. There used to be this bar in Chicago called The Squared Circle. It was a professional w

Day #45: Kayla

7/12/18 #45: Kayla Today is Kayla’s birthday. We actually just got home from Longhorn Steakhouse, and I ate way too much and am ready to go lay in bed. I figured this would be a good time to go in dep

Day #44: Things I want to Accomplish Through Writing

#44: Things I Want to Accomplish Through Writing This is more of a list.. -make a living writing -write a book -write a cartoon/episode of a cartoon -become a New York Times best selling author -be to

bottom of page