top of page
  • Austin Hamblin

Day #40: My Home

7/7/18


#40: My Home


I talked a little bit about what I put on the walls of my home, but let's talk about my house in general. Before moving into my current home, I had only lived with my parents. Oddly enough, my house is just four blocks up the road on the same side of the road. I’m really close to the post office. So close in fact, they won’t deliver mail to me, which is stupid as hell if you ask me. I live in a two story house with an unfinished limestone basement. We have a little front porch and a slab of concrete outback. I don’t have a garage, but I do have a utility shed. No trees in my yard, but we put flower beds along the house. Within our first year in this home, I had to put a new roof on and replace the water heater. We ended up putting on a metal roof, so I’ll never have to worry about replacing it again. Other than small fixes, we have been pretty lucky. Last winter, we had some trouble with our furnace when it was negative 15 degrees Fahrenheit. We had one warm room in the house and had to put some space heaters in the basement to keep the pipes from freezing. It has one full bathroom, three bedrooms (one of which is a library), kitchen, living room, dining room, and a little office area on the second floor. I don’t think we will live in this house forever. We, might need something different when we end up starting a family. Right now we are building up credit and escrow, plus we actually own this house. What we pay for a house payment is actually less than rent in the area, so weirdly enough it’s cheaper to buy a house. I had to have my dad cosign with me, but Kayla and I make all the payments. I owned a home at 21, so I guess I can’t be a complete failure.


Everyday I will be posting an entry in my writing challenge 100 Days which has been collected into a print collection. If you are interested in purchasing a print collection: http://www.lulu.com/shop/austin-hamblin/100-days/paperback/product-23916414.html


Kayla and I have also started a weekly podcast. You can check it out here: https://anchor.fm/austin-allen-hamblin It's called In the Bed with Austin and Kayla because we literally record it as we lay in bed!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day #46:

7/13/18 #46: Themed Restaurant An idea which runs through my head once in awhile is opening a themed restaurant. There used to be this bar in Chicago called The Squared Circle. It was a professional w

Day #45: Kayla

7/12/18 #45: Kayla Today is Kayla’s birthday. We actually just got home from Longhorn Steakhouse, and I ate way too much and am ready to go lay in bed. I figured this would be a good time to go in dep

Day #44: Things I want to Accomplish Through Writing

#44: Things I Want to Accomplish Through Writing This is more of a list.. -make a living writing -write a book -write a cartoon/episode of a cartoon -become a New York Times best selling author -be to

bottom of page