top of page
  • Austin Hamblin

Day #35: I can't help you...

7/2/18


#35: I Can’t Help You


We all have at least one friend we love and who is a great person, but can’t seem to get their shit together. I have a few different friends who fall into the category. It’s rough. You can suggest things and even give them advice if they ask, but you can’t live their life for them. Some will make a plan and just never do it. Sometimes it’s hard to listen to them complain about different things, such as money, when it’s all self inflicted or easily fixable. Sometimes, another part of this equation can be a significant other: a boyfriend or wife. I have one friend who I never get to see because his wife has trust issues, even though he has never done anything to lose her trust. It’s rough. I only get to see him if I bump into him when I’m out and about. One time he asked me to go to a movie, and I was really excited to see him. A few days before, he texted me saying he didn’t have the money, and I offered to pay because movies on that night are only $5. He just never responded to me after that… I don’t think it had anything to do with the movie. They don’t have internet or cable, which is fine, but his wife has a smart phone with unlimited data, and he isn’t allowed to have one… I see his wife out and about with her friends all the time. It’s frustrating because he’s a stand up guy. I only write this because I know they will never read this. Another friend constantly has money troubles, and with a few simple steps, he could fix it. I know; how can things be that easy? If you knew the situation you would believe me. This probably sounds like I am dumping on these people who can’t defend themselves. It just frustrates me because I just want them to be happy, and I know most of them aren’t…


Everyday I will be posting an entry in my writing challenge 100 Days which has been collected into a print collection. If you are interested in purchasing a print collection: http://www.lulu.com/shop/austin-hamblin/100-days/paperback/product-23916414.html


Kayla and I have also started a weekly podcast. You can check it out here: https://anchor.fm/austin-allen-hamblin It's called In the Bed with Austin and Kayla because we literally record it as we lay in bed!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day #46:

7/13/18 #46: Themed Restaurant An idea which runs through my head once in awhile is opening a themed restaurant. There used to be this bar in Chicago called The Squared Circle. It was a professional w

Day #45: Kayla

7/12/18 #45: Kayla Today is Kayla’s birthday. We actually just got home from Longhorn Steakhouse, and I ate way too much and am ready to go lay in bed. I figured this would be a good time to go in dep

Day #44: Things I want to Accomplish Through Writing

#44: Things I Want to Accomplish Through Writing This is more of a list.. -make a living writing -write a book -write a cartoon/episode of a cartoon -become a New York Times best selling author -be to

bottom of page