top of page
  • Austin Hamblin

Day #31: Letter to my Future Child/Children

6/27/18


#31: Letter to My Future Child/Children


I knew I would have you, eventually, but I have to say, I’m scared shitless. I don’t want to mess up with you. I want us to have a great relationship. I want to be able to help you and support you in more ways than are even possible. I don’t care if you want to be a dancer, a writer, a baseball player, or a farmer. I will help you in any and all ways. The main reason I am scared to have you is because being raised by your grandpa and grandma has given me some really big shoes to fill. My dad was a farmer who loved tools and cars, and mom worked with food and loved fairies. I wanted to do something different. No matter if you want to go to college or not, I will support you through it all. The breakups, puberty, adulthood. I will help you through all of it. At some point in your life, you will hate me, and I’m sure we will have a rough relationship at that time. But this happens with everyone. I got into it with my mom and dad a lot and treated them really badly growing up. Now I feel so horrible for it because I love them. They always had me in mind; always what was best for me, not them. I love you, even though you don’t exist yet, and I know you will go on to do great things...because you know the apple doesn't fall far from the tree… ;)


Everyday I will be posting an entry in my writing challenge 100 Days which has been collected into a print collection. If you are interested in purchasing a print collection: http://www.lulu.com/shop/austin-hamblin/100-days/paperback/product-23916414.html


Kayla and I have also started a weekly podcast. You can check it out here: https://anchor.fm/austin-allen-hamblin It's called In the Bed with Austin and Kayla because we literally record it as we lay in bed!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day #46:

7/13/18 #46: Themed Restaurant An idea which runs through my head once in awhile is opening a themed restaurant. There used to be this bar in Chicago called The Squared Circle. It was a professional w

Day #45: Kayla

7/12/18 #45: Kayla Today is Kayla’s birthday. We actually just got home from Longhorn Steakhouse, and I ate way too much and am ready to go lay in bed. I figured this would be a good time to go in dep

Day #44: Things I want to Accomplish Through Writing

#44: Things I Want to Accomplish Through Writing This is more of a list.. -make a living writing -write a book -write a cartoon/episode of a cartoon -become a New York Times best selling author -be to

bottom of page