top of page
  • Austin Hamblin

Day #30: The Work

6/26/18


#30: The Work


I am exhausted. I literally just woke up after passing out on the couch, and when I finish this, I’m

headed upstairs to bed. If you want something, you have to put in the work for it. It can be as simple as wanting an item at $300. You put in extra hours at work or pinch some pennies. You put in the work to get what you want. The harder you work, the more luck you will have. No such thing exists as an overnight success. This can be a hard truth for people. They want to do nothing and get everything. It doesn’t work like that and for good reason. I’ve driven 6 hours round trip to cons where I only sold a few things. I’ll be at the next small show picking up emails, getting likes for my Facebook author page, and attempting be noticed. This is a marathon, not a race for me. A common saying is, “comics is a ten year line.” And that’s fine with me. I think 80% of it is to keep on going and stick with it. I have been told to quit writing by professionals, but I’m still writing. I’m still going foreword. Sometimes you just have to make things happen. No one would publish my comics when I started, so I published them. I found printers, sold to friends, and far beyond. If you can’t run, walk. If you can’t walk, crawl. All that matters is you keep moving forward. Things might get rough, but if you want something, take it. Just do it.


Everyday I will be posting an entry in my writing challenge 100 Days which has been collected into a print collection. If you are interested in purchasing a print collection: http://www.lulu.com/shop/austin-hamblin/100-days/paperback/product-23916414.html


Kayla and I have also started a weekly podcast. You can check it out here: https://anchor.fm/austin-allen-hamblin It's called In the Bed with Austin and Kayla because we literally record it as we lay in bed!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day #46:

7/13/18 #46: Themed Restaurant An idea which runs through my head once in awhile is opening a themed restaurant. There used to be this bar in Chicago called The Squared Circle. It was a professional w

Day #45: Kayla

7/12/18 #45: Kayla Today is Kayla’s birthday. We actually just got home from Longhorn Steakhouse, and I ate way too much and am ready to go lay in bed. I figured this would be a good time to go in dep

Day #44: Things I want to Accomplish Through Writing

#44: Things I Want to Accomplish Through Writing This is more of a list.. -make a living writing -write a book -write a cartoon/episode of a cartoon -become a New York Times best selling author -be to

bottom of page