top of page
  • Austin Hamblin

Day #28: Kickstarter

Updated: Apr 19, 2019

6/24/18


#28: Kickstarter


I love Kickstarter. Since writing this, I have backed 100 projects and have run two successful campaigns. Kickstarter is a crowdfunding website. You set a goal amount of money and give prizes to people who donate. If you are trying to fund a graphic novel, you might give away print/digital copies or maybe original art. You have a time limit on your project, and the money only gets pulled out if you meet or exceed your goal. Thanks to Kickstarter, I have stumbled onto some really fun and crazy things. Some haven’t been amazing, but at least I have the satisfaction of helping someone with a passion project. For myself, it has worked as a great pre-order system. If I post on Facebook that I’ve got a new comic out, it will get some likes and maybe a share or two. If I do a Kickstarter, so many more people will share the link, drastically broadening the amount of those who will see my work. Every time I have run a campaign, I’ve gotten people to back it who may have never heard of me before. It’s also a different market. People who don’t read comics might just like Kickstarter and stumble onto my project and back it because it looks interesting. It is such a great premise because Kickstarter gets a percent of the money, but you get most of it for yourself. Some people take advantage of the system and don’t supply the rewards. I understand things happen and unforeseen delays, but sometimes people are just shit, simple as that. In everything, you will find someone who takes advantage. There’s always a bad egg in the case.


Everyday I will be posting an entry in my writing challenge 100 Days which has been collected into a print collection. If you are interested in purchasing a print collection: http://www.lulu.com/shop/austin-hamblin/100-days/paperback/product-23916414.html


Kayla and I have also started a weekly podcast. You can check it out here: https://anchor.fm/austin-allen-hamblin It's called In the Bed with Austin and Kayla because we literally record it as we lay in bed!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day #46:

7/13/18 #46: Themed Restaurant An idea which runs through my head once in awhile is opening a themed restaurant. There used to be this bar in Chicago called The Squared Circle. It was a professional w

Day #45: Kayla

7/12/18 #45: Kayla Today is Kayla’s birthday. We actually just got home from Longhorn Steakhouse, and I ate way too much and am ready to go lay in bed. I figured this would be a good time to go in dep

Day #44: Things I want to Accomplish Through Writing

#44: Things I Want to Accomplish Through Writing This is more of a list.. -make a living writing -write a book -write a cartoon/episode of a cartoon -become a New York Times best selling author -be to

bottom of page