top of page
  • Austin Hamblin

Day #11


6/7/18


#11: All over the place…


I will be covering a few different things today…. First off is my experience with drugs. I guess you could call me a square when it comes to drugs. I have only smoked weed once and popped a pill once. Both times, it didn’t really do much for me. I have nothing against smoking weed, I actually have many friends who do. I don’t really consider weed a drug. Whenever I see it, I think of the scene in Half Baked, “Marijuana is not a drug! Have you ever sucked dick for coke?” Bob Saget delivered the line perfectly. I don’t really drink to much either. I think I only ever drank underage a few times. I’ve never even got drunk until a few months ago...I’m 23. In high school, I was really against drinking. On my mom’s side of the family, quite a few alcoholics were present. Besides, I didn’t want to get in trouble. We did other dumb shit we could get in trouble for anyways. One of my close friends, Howie, came to my school junior year, and we always say if he had showed up any sooner, we would have gotten into a lot of trouble. This morning I woke up around 5 A.M. and came down to the couch to try my luck sleeping on it. I turned on Robot Chicken on hulu and woke up 16 episodes later. Since I still don’t have a job, groceries are low, and we aren’t buying nonessentials, so I have been walking down to my parents house to mooch a soda everyday. Kayla went with me, and on the way, we played Pokémon Go. We want to go do something fun tonight. But can’t figure out what we actually feel like doing. Living in Iowa, we don’t exactly have a ton of fun things going on. No professional sports teams, any decent sized venue is over an hour away. Next, I can talk about a few celebrity encounters I’ve had. Most of them happened at comic book conventions, and most of them are professional wrestlers. As far as wrestlers go, I’ve met Booker T, CM Punk, Mick Foley, Al Snow, Ric Flair, Victoria, Tommy Dreamer, Hacksaw Jim Duggan, Jerry “The King” Lawler, and I know I’ve met more, but it’s escaping my mind right now. One of the coolest was Hacksaw. He seemed genuinely interested in talking to fans and was a lot of fun to joke around with. Plus, for $30 I got a book, shirt, and 2x4 signed by him. I also got to meet the Riot Squad (Sarah Logan, Liv Morgan, and Ruby Riot), and that was a really cool experience. Last minute I was given free tickets to a WWE live event in Moline, Il. Kayla and I went, only to find out the seats were 4th row, ringside. On the way home, we both got really hungry, and after learning Kayla had never been to a Denny’s, we stopped to get some food. After we ordered and had been waiting about ten minutes, The Riot Squad came in. I really wanted to get a picture with them, but I didn’t want to annoy them. They are people; they just wanted to eat their food and enjoy some privacy. On the way out, I decided to pay for their meal. The waitress asked me why I was doing so, and I explained. We then went to the gas station attached to the Denny's, so I could buy an energy drink for the road. Suddenly Ruby appears and says, “Hey you! I heard you wanted a picture.” They tracked me down, so I could get a picture with them. They all shook my hand and thanked me for buying their meals as well. They were so nice; it was a really cool experience. Another time, Daryl from Run DMC gave me a cookie. Honestly, it was a really good cookie. He writes comics now. I guess he grew up reading them and ended up wanting to create them. He was a really nice dude. We stood around for about 20 minutes talking about the Fantastic Four and The Thing.


Everyday I will be posting an entry in my writing challenge 100 Days which has been collected into a print collection. If you are interested in purchasing a print collection: http://www.lulu.com/shop/austin-hamblin/100-days/paperback/product-23916414.html

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day #46:

7/13/18 #46: Themed Restaurant An idea which runs through my head once in awhile is opening a themed restaurant. There used to be this bar in Chicago called The Squared Circle. It was a professional w

Day #45: Kayla

7/12/18 #45: Kayla Today is Kayla’s birthday. We actually just got home from Longhorn Steakhouse, and I ate way too much and am ready to go lay in bed. I figured this would be a good time to go in dep

bottom of page