top of page
  • Austin Hamblin

Day #22: Smoking

6/18/18


#22: Smoking


After over five weeks of being off, I started my new job today with a ten hour shift. Holy balls, am I sore and am I tired. I hate smoking; I always have and always will. I think back to high school when I worked at the local grocery store, people would come in and get $200 dollars of food with food stamps, but somehow have money to get a pack of cigarettes. I’ve seen so many people complain about money, how they are seriously struggling to make ends meet, yet they always seem to have money for a pack of smokes. I have smoked before, and I have no idea why anyone would keep doing it. When I worked at the corn cob plant, so many people smoked, and I just couldn’t wrap my head around it. We breathed in dust all day, which was already bad on our lungs, and you’re going to smoke? I hate when people will say, “Well I’m addicted. I have a disease; I can’t possibly quit.” You choose to pick up the first cigarette. I highly doubt anyone forced you to smoke it... I do have to admit, smoking can make a character look badass. So I often have characters in different stories smoking, but hey it’s just in fantasy!


Everyday I will be posting an entry in my writing challenge 100 Days which has been collected into a print collection. If you are interested in purchasing a print collection: http://www.lulu.com/shop/austin-hamblin/100-days/paperback/product-23916414.html


Kayla and I have also started a weekly podcast. You can check it out here: https://anchor.fm/austin-allen-hamblin It's called In the Bed with Austin and Kayla because we literally record it as we lay in bed!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A decade in comics...

A Decade in Comics: This month I celebrate my 10th year making comics. I’ve been writing comics for a tad bit longer, but my first official comic book release was a collection of short comics called T

Spooky Month 2022

Spooky Month 2022: Let's talk about all the horror movies I watched in October of 2022… I wanted to hit 20 films and didn’t make it, but I had a lot of fun trying. Shaun of the Dead: My current girlfr

bottom of page